Xmanager Forum

emacs: Undefined color: "black"

Last post: Monday, May 11, 2009 6:24 PM by Support, 5 reply

Tuesday, April 21, 2009 9:49 PM - xuser

emacs: Undefined color: "black"

I am new to xmanager 3.0. I am getting a weired error. When I XDMCP into my redhat box (both e3 and e5 tested), everything seems to work fine, until I launch emacs, then I get:

Undefined color: "black"

Through trial and error, I eventually figured out a workaround, if I reset my XManager, then everything works afterwards. So it seems upon startup some state is not fully set correctly in xmanager, but a reset of the server fixes the problem.

this is what I do:

1) launch xbrowser
2) double click on my redhat box
3) after I see the redhat login window, I right click on my xmanager icon on the task car, and select "reset server".
4) I am back at the login screen agin, log in.

If I don't do server reset, then i can't run emacs. removing my .emacs file made no difference. I have 32-bit XP with SP3.

Is this a known problem? I have xmanager 3.0 build 0186. Thanks.

Program Ver. : Xmanager 3.0
Connection Method : XDMCP connection
Friday, April 24, 2009 3:24 PM - Support

Re: Emacs: Undefined Color: "black"

This problem may occur when the color database is not loaded properly.

To find out if the color database is causing the problem, please try performing the followings:

When you get the "Undefined color: 'block'" error, give the following command:

xterm -bg black&

If the command returns the following error, it means the color database is the problem.

"Warning: Color name 'black' is not defined"

To resolve this problem, try uninstalling Xmanager and reinstall it with Administrator previlage.

Techincal Support
Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:24 PM - xuser

Re: emacs: Undefined color: "black"

Thank you for the reply.

Running "xterm -bg black&" does generate the same error. Likewise, if I perform a "server reset" by right click on xmanage on the task car, the problem disappears.